<u>Minutes of Exeter Flotilla</u> <u>Annual General Meeting 2022</u> <u>Held at CTCRM before the Lecture on 9th May 2023</u>

1. <u>Remembrance</u>

Members were invited to remember the following members who have crossed the bar since the last AGM:

Captain Ian Brannam RN Lt Cdr George Drake RN Lt Cdr Jonathan Dempster RN Lt Cdr George Walker RNVR Lt Jim Booth RN S/Lt Dick Trafford RNVR S/Lt Peter Brockman RNVR

2. Attendance:

a. Apologies

Apologies had been received from James Luard, James Crick, David Elkington, Robin Geldard and Tim Baker

b. Attendance

Those attending the lecture evening on 9th May

3. **<u>2021 Minutes.</u>**

a. To accept the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 10th May 2022 as a true and correct record. Accepted unanimously.

b. Matters arising from the minutes:- Nil.

4. <u>Accounts</u>

a. To receive the Certified Balance Sheet. [1] (This was sent to all in early April)

b. To record a vote of thanks to the Financial Examiner (Mr Adrian Ford) who has kindly audited our accounts. Recorded.

5. <u>Chairman's Report</u>

a. To receive the Chairman's Report. This was distributed in early April and was updated by the Chairman as follows:-

The forthcoming Lecture Program has been amended to read

May Ghost Ships by Ken Atherton

Jun HMY Britannia by Lt Cdr Nicko Franks RN

Jul Intelligence at Sea during WW2 by Clovis Meath Baker

Sept Sinking of Lusitania and effect on WW1 by Stewart Raine

Oct Working in the Tower of London by Cdr Debra Whittingham RN

<u>Annual Lunch</u>

Amend to read

The first Annual Lunch for three years was held here on 19th April and our Guest of Honour was the Corps Colonel, Lt Col Simon Tucker RM. The Flotilla Guests were Cdr Chris Cole and his wife Carol, who have since sent a charming letter of thanks.

Trafalgar Service. Last line, delete "been booked" and insert "agreed to preside"

Annual Dinner. Last line, add "Mess Beating by the Plymouth Corps of Drums".

Conclusion. Last line. Delete "our AGM" and insert "this AGM"

We have been made aware of two more members' deaths since my report and one new member so the Membership figure is now 123.

b. Questions. Nil

6. <u>Election of Flotilla Officers</u>

a.. All the current Committee Members have volunteered to continue in post:-2/O Dita Dixon – Lecture Secretary. Captain Mike Croxford – Visits Secretary, Surg Cdre Robert Harland – Golf Secretary. Cdr Trevor Waddington – Trafalgar Day Service Coordinator, Sea Cadet Liaison and Website Secretary, Major Ralph Howard Williams -CTCRM Camp Liaison, Mr Ian Yule – Treasurer, Surg Cdr Mike Wilson – Newsletter and Membership Secretary, Lt.Cdr David Scott – Zoom Secretary and Capt James Luard – General Secretary

b. Members invited to agree the extension in post of the current Committee Members. Agreed unanimously.

7. Appointment of New Chairman

Not required – the current Chairman has another two years in post.

8. Any Other Business

Nil